Events Calendar

April 2017
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30



Race Officials`Exchange programme

2012 EUROSAF Match Racing Open European Championship

Morvan repeats his triumph in Baiona and takes his Vitaldent Trophy to France.

The Marseillaise hymn was sounded today at the Bayona Monte Real Yacht Club, in honour of the winner of the European Match Race Championship – Vitaldent Trophy, the French sailor Pierre Antoine Morvan, who brought emotion until the end in his confrontation with the danish sailor Mads Ebler at the Baiona Bay.

The level of both teams has been reflected at this edition of the 2012 Spanish traditional Master that became an unavoidable meeting to obtain the intercontinental season title, with the organization of the Baiona Monte Real Yacht Club, EUROSAF and the Royal Spanish Sailing Federation, the sponsorship of Vitaldent and the collaboration of Rias Baixas Tourism, Baiona City Council, Sperry Top-Sider, Galician Television and Valiant.

After finishing the Round Robin with success and the validation of 55 matches, the Race Committee organized a new series of qualifying rounds, with the dispute of the quarterfinals, where Morvan, Marinho, Ferrarese, Lees, Sepp and Echegoyen were classified with Ebler direct into semifinals.

The French and the Portuguese sailors Morvan and Marinho with the Galician Echegoyen defined the clashes box to semifinals. Morvan and Ebler were in the struggling for the European title and Marinho and Echegoyen for the bronze.

This last final day and "petite final" started on time due to the stability of a 115 that prevailed with 9 knots of average at the Baiona Bay. After a match for each tandem of the competition, the morning began with the leading of Morvan and Marinho in their respective challenges.

After a short delay, another triumph of Marinho, made him win the ´petite final´.

Each one of them won two matches, so both competed for the fifth and last match. Finally, it was the French sailor Morvan who won the competition.

The awards ceremony was presided by Rafael Olmedo, President of the Yacht Club and Oleg Ylvin, EUROSAF delegate, as well as organization body. Jesús Vázquez Almuiña, the Mayor of Baiona; José Ramón Lete Lasa, the General Sports Secretary of the Government of Galicia; Jose Angel Rodriguez, the Galicia Sailing Federation and Alejandro Retolaza, the Monte Real Vice-Commodore, attended to the act.